Collective–LOK is an architectural collaboration formed by Jon Lott (PARA), William O'Brien Jr. (WOJR), and Michael Kubo (pinkcomma).


General Inquiries

Jon Lott is principal of PARA Project, PC and Design Critic in Architecture at Harvard University's Graduate School of Design. He is recipient of the Design Vanguard award (by Architectural Record), the New Practices New York award (by the American Institute of Architects), twice a MoMA/PS1 Young Architects finalist, and was awarded the Architectural League Prize (by the Architectural League of New York). He has taught previously at Syracuse University, directing the School of Architecture's New York City Program, is a Leopold Schepp and John E. Thayer Scholar, has been a project editor for PRAXIS: Journal of Writing + Building, and an invited juror at Harvard, Princeton, Rice, Yale, Columbia, MIT, UPenn, Cornell, Toronto, and the Architectural League of New York. He holds the Master of Architecture with Distinction from Harvard University's Graduate School of Design, the Bachelor of Architecture from California Polytechnic University San Luis Obispo, and is an NCARB-certified architect, with licensure in New York, California, and Rhode Island.

William O’Brien Jr. is the principal of WOJR: Organization for Architecture, and is an Associate Professor in the MIT Department of Architecture. He is the recent recipient of the 2012-2013 Rome Prize Fellowship in Architecture awarded by the American Academy in Rome. His practice was awarded the 2011 Architectural League Prize for Young Architects and Designers. In 2010 his practice was a finalist for the MoMA PS1 Young Architects Program and was recognized as a winner of the Design Biennial Boston Award. O’Brien has taught previously at The University of California Berkeley as a Bernard Maybeck Fellow and was the LeFevre Emerging Practitioner Fellow at The Ohio State University. Before joining MIT, for two years he was Assistant Professor at The University of Texas at Austin, where he taught advanced theory seminars and design studios in the graduate curriculum. At MIT O’Brien currently holds the Cecil and Ida Green Career Development Chair and teaches design studios in both the graduate and undergraduate programs.

Michael Kubo is a director of pinkcomma gallery in Boston and an author of Heroic: Concrete Architecture and the New Boston (2015). He is a Ph.D. Candidate in the History, Theory, and Criticism of Architecture at MIT and a pre-doctoral fellow of the Center for Advanced Study in the Visual Arts (CASVA) at the National Gallery of Art for 2015-2017, where his work focuses on the rise and international extension of collective architectural practice in the United States after World War II. He was Associate Curator for OfficeUS, the U.S. Pavilion at the 2014 International Architecture Biennale in Venice, and is co-editor of OfficeUS Atlas (2015). His writing has appeared in numerous publications including the Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians, Journal of Architectural Education, Harvard Design Magazine, MAS Context, Bauhaus, Architect, The Boston Globe, Architecture Boston, Volume, and CLOG. He holds the Master of Architecture from Harvard University's Graduate School of Design and has taught studios and seminars at Pratt Institute, the University of Texas at Austin, and SUNY Buffalo, where he was the Peter Reyner Banham Fellow for 2008-2009.

Past and present team members include Chaewon Ahn, Enas Alkhudairy, Majda Al Marzouqi, Young Byun, Hyun Chung, Justin Gallagher, Benjamin Halpern, Jerome Byron Hord, Aimee Hultquist, May Jieun Jeong, Kyung Sik Kim, Arion Kocani, Dammy Lee, Patrick Evan Little, Paul Knepley, Lauren McClellan, Dave Miranowski, Caner Oktem, Gabrielle Patawaran, John David Todd, Joan Tom, Robert White